Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Xmas Rail News

2 December 2015

Some Lincolnshire train services to and from Doncaster may be affected over festive period.

Rovers fans attending Keepmoat Stadium via rail over the festive period are urged to check before they travel from Scunthorpe, Cleethorpes, Lincoln Central, Doncaster and Barton-Upon-Humber between 24 December 2015 and 11 January 2016.

People and businesses across the Greater Lincolnshire area will benefit from almost £100m of investment in the region’s railway this Christmas as part of Network Rail’s Railway Upgrade Plan.

The investment programme will see the railway brought up to the most modern standards, creating greater reliability for existing passenger services as well as increasing the capacity limits of the railway, which creates the potential for more trains to run in the future.

While this SHOULD NOT unduly affect fans attending the scheduled home games against Scunthorpe (26th December) and Port Vale (9th January), the full impact to the North Lincolnshire rail lines can be seen below:

RAIL PASSENGER IMPACT  
Sundays 22, 29 Nov and 6, 13 and 20 Dec - Buses replace trains between Scunthorpe and Cleethorpes
22.00 Thursday 24 December and Friday 25 December - All lines close. No services Christmas Day and Boxing Day as usual.
Sunday 27 December - Buses replace trains Doncaster – Cleethorpes
Monday 28 December - Buses replace trains Doncaster – Cleethorpes; Barton on Humber – Cleethorpes; Market Rasen - Grimsby

Tuesday 29 December to Friday 1 Jan and Monday 4 Jan to Friday 8 Jan - Buses replace trains Scunthorpe – Cleethorpes; Barton on Humber – Cleethorpes; Market Rasen – Grimsby
Saturday 2 Jan and Saturday 9 Jan - As above but buses also running Brigg – Cleethorpes (Saturday only service)
Sunday 3 Jan - Buses replace trains Doncaster – Cleethorpes and Market Rasen – Grimsby
Sunday 10 Jan - Buses replace trains Scunthorpe - Cleethorpes
Monday 11 January (5am) – All lines fully reopen

We thank you for your cooperation on this matter.

Tickets for our home games are available ONLINE HERE or by calling 01302 762576.

Advertisement block