Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mitre Goal of the Year 2016

23 February 2017

The EFL are searching for the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals should be nominated.

We can nominate one goal from any EFL competition in the 2016 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet EFL, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy. 
We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by an email vote. Our Supporters Board have chosen their five favourite goals from last year for a shortlist which our wider fanbase will pick a winner from.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday April 9 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.  

The five goals chosen by the Supporters Board are:

A: Cameron Stewart v Gillingham (January 16)
B: James Coppinger v Barnet  (October 8)
C: John Marquis v Wycombe Wanderers (October 29)
D: Matty Blair v Stevenage (December 3)
E: Liam Mandeville v Grimsby Town (December 17)

To make it easier for you, we have compiled a video with all five goals which you can view below 

with the subject header GOAL X, replacing X with the letter. The deadline to vote is midday on Tuesday February can vote via email, just email

A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the  Awards ceremony. 

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005). find out more about the EFL Awards please visit  

Get your tickets for our home game against Accrington Stanley now from our Box Office on 01302 762576 or by going to

Advertisement block