Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rovers submit retain and release list to EFL

14 May 2021

Doncaster Rovers can confirm that the retain and release list has been submitted to the EFL following the conclusion of the 2020/21 season.

Talks are ongoing with Reece James, Jason Lokilo and Lirak Hasani while Danny Amos, Madger Gomes and Ian Lawlor are set to leave the club when their contracts expire next month.  

The club have exercised an option on promising young defender Ben Blythe with further details of the centre-back’s deal to be confirmed in due course.  

An agreement was unable to be reached with defensive duo Brad Halliday and Joe Wright before the initial deadline with both formally released. Halliday is back in discussions with the club with the final decision set to be taken by the incoming manager.  

Following confirmation that the injury picked up by centre back Wright in the final game of the 2020/21 campaign will see him ruled out of first-team action for much of the upcoming season, the club will be supporting and facilitating the 26-year-old’s recovery and rehab and talks continue with the player's representatives.

Loan players Matt Smith, Taylor Richards, Tyreece John-Jules, Josh Sims, Ellery Balcombe, Scott Robertson and Elliot Simoes have all returned to their parent clubs.  

Everyone at the club would like to thank all players departing this summer for their efforts and commitment during their time at Rovers and wish them the best for their future careers. 

Advertisement block