Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2021/22 retained and released list confirmed

3 May 2022

Following the conclusion of the 2021/22 Sky Bet League One season, Rovers have confirmed their retained and released list.

The club will offer fresh terms to John Bostock, Aidan Barlow and Bobby Faulkner, as well as take up options on captain Tom Anderson, along with goalkeepers Louis Jones and Ben Bottomley.Cameron John, Fejiri Okenabirhie, Dan Gardner, Branden Horton, Ed Williams, AJ Greaves and Lirak Hasani will not be offered fresh terms with their contracts coming to an end this summer.Rovers will however support Okenabirhie in his recovery from a long-term achilles injury, with the striker recently having surgery on the issue.Ben Blythe is set to complete his permanent transfer to Sky Bet Championship side Swansea City.Matt Smith, Ethan Galbraith, Josh Martin, Mipo Odubeko and Ben Jackson have all returned to their parent clubs after their loans with Rovers came to an end.Manager Gary McSheffrey said: “It’s never easy having conversations with players who are leaving the club but we have made these decisions with how we want the squad to look next season in mind.“Some of the players were unfortunate, however having had 34 players including loans with us at the end of the season, we have a clear vision of the size and make-up of the squad going forward.“We would like to thank all the players leaving us for their efforts while with the club, and wish them well for their future careers.”The following players remain contracted to Rovers for the 2022/23 campaign: Kyle Knoyle, Ollie Younger, Joseph Olowu, Ro-Shaun Williams, Adam Clayton, Ben Close, Tommy Rowe, Jon Taylor, Jonathan Mitchell, Jordy Hiwula, Charlie Seaman, Joe Dodoo, Kieran Agard, Liam Ravenhill, Reo Griffiths.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account